Nitro Update: Still Inside

Looking for an update? Still pregnant. But happy about it.

As the “due date” rapidly approaches we are glad that this little one is still cooking. We are awaiting the arrival of our friend/midwife from Florida who delivered Andy. We really want her to be here for the birth. Of course, we have back up midwifes here that will attend the birth also so we are technically ready at anytime.

Sleeping at night has become less of a thing I do. That is not to say that I am sleeping during the day or any other time for that matter. “I am awake. But why? Do I have to pee? Easy to answer that these days… Am I in labor? Oh no! What if I am? Please stay in there a bit longer!” This has been my nearly nightly panic which is followed by lying awake in bed waiting to calm down enough to go back to sleep. Only to repeat this process every two hours. I don’t remember the panic last time but I do remember the every two hours part when it got towards the end. Some ridiculous attempt to begin preparing you for the soon-to-come sleepless nights.

In a related note, I have been drinking tons of water to try and stay well hydrated and hopefully prevent any early contractions from turning into more. So far, the baby is still on the inside so it has worked however the side effect of peeing every two minutes is a downer. Driving to a meeting for work today about an hour and a half away I had to stop at the most ridiculous place and go in searching for a bathroom. Luckily, they took pity on the very pregnant woman begging for a toilet and let me use their employee restroom.

These complaints are not to say that I am fed up with being pregnant or that I am in a constant state of discomfort, just that those moments are becoming more frequent signaling that the shift is approaching. For the moment we are enjoying our family of three. We will soon be a family of four and things will be crazy and for the moment spending time just the three of us is nice. This morning we went outside and spent time playing in the snow, shoveling, and building a snow fort/tunnel. So much fun.

20140219-173616.jpg

Perhaps the next update will be the big one…? We shall see.

One thought on “Nitro Update: Still Inside

Leave a Reply

