Ups and Downs

I’ve got some ups and some downs to tell. First, this past Friday, Ashley and I celebrated our three year wedding anniversary. It is hard to believe that it has been that long already. We made a deal on our first anniversary to always take off our anniversary and do something fun… Even with being at a relatively new job, I managed to get the day off. I work at a pretty laid back agency and with a pretty laid back boss man. That is an up. As is this adorable photo of Andy napping with his Mom.

image

Unfortunately, (here comes a down…) Thursday night during my softball game, I sustained an injury to my left knee. I was catching and a player from the other team rounded third as I got the ball from an outfielder. I stood firmly in the baseline with the ball and tagged her clearly out. She knew well ahead of time that she was going to be out and her only shot was to knock me over and hope that I dropped the ball. She sped up as she approached and did a dramatic slide, too far from home plate to even be close to safe. Some how our legs got caught up and I was knocked over backwards. All of the weight of my body and force of her slamming into me was taken by my previously injured knee (torn meniscus). I did not get up, which is probably good because I may have gotten into a fight. It looks like I have a re-torn meniscus and a grade two tear of my quad muscle. Craptastic.

image

We still managed to get to the capital of Vermont, Montpelier, to get our enhanced driver’s license. With that we can finally drive into Canada and go to Montreal… Anyway, we made the best of it.

image

Andy doesn’t think that it is so bad… He loves these crutches.lol

image

image

Another up though is that Ashley’s parents arrive for a visit on Wednesday and we have tons of fun things planned. More on that stuff later…

3 thoughts on “Ups and Downs

  1. We love the fact that you end the post on a positive note. you have a beautiful family enjoy the all the fantastic moments with them … No Fight!

    We love this quote!

    “Ever since happiness heard your name, it has been running through the streets trying to find you.”
    ― Hafez

Leave a Reply

