Sugarless: Day 9

So today is day 9 of no sugar. I must say that I still want sugar. I feel about a pint of Ben and Jerry’s the way Andy feels about his kitty cat in this photo series…

I think that the physical withdrawal from the sugar has subsided. Now, I am left with a glaze of crankiness whenever sugar is mentioned, I walk by the vending machine, I see a pile of donuts in the break room, etc. At this point in the game, I do not see a time where I don’t want to eat icecream or cookies, but I definitely have taken some valuable things from the sugar cleansing experience. One is that sugar is added to way too many foods (and foods that you wouldn’t think have sugar) like peanut butter, dried cranberries, yogurt, and essentially anything that is processed. It is the sneaky hidden sugars that are the issue to me. If you eat a balanced and generally healthy diet and sit down for a slice of cake, you well aware that you are eating sugar. This is not a problem in my opinion because you know what you are getting.  If you are on a diet and sit down to have some blueberry yogurt and a few pieces of dried fruit for a snack and without realizing it have just injested the same amount of sugar as having a candy bar and soda. That in my opinion is the problem. Hidden sugar. The other valuable lesson that I have learned is that just like with any other food issue, knowing where your food came from and what is in it is the key to eating healthy. Being educated about your own food choices is the best thing you can do for yourself when it comes to eating. Happy sugar eating, folks!

3 thoughts on “Sugarless: Day 9

Leave a Reply

