Family Friday VIII: The One Without the Nurse

In Family Friday VI: The One with Ashley’s Baby Stuff, I made a short note about having found a doctor that would see us and discuss our desire to have an at-home insemination.  My appointment with said doctor was for this past Monday. It is a story worth telling. Here it goes…

Ashley and I woke up feeling unsure about the doctor. We were not very happy with our choices of doctors, or lack there of rather. We both felt somewhat uncomfortable the entire morning as we went about our lives pretending that everything would be fine. At long last, it was time to leave for the appointment. We got in the car and upon discussing the fact that we had both been dissatisfied and uncomfortable all morning, we almost turned around leaving the doctor stood up. Maybe we should have. I did not want to get slapped with a late cancellation fee so we pushed through and arrived at the office just one or two minutes before my scheduled appointment.

After checking in with the receptionist, I was told, “We will be right with you.” While I was waiting, I noticed a framed article that had been published about the doctor. I will spare the long details but they quoted the doctor in response to a question about having to be “on your game” at all times as an OB physician and her response was something like, ” If your child is destined for the short yellow bus that is one thing, but if it is a result of my negligence, that is unacceptable.” I started to freak out a little. What kind of doctor refers to the short yellow bus? Not my kind, that is for sure. What’s that sound? Oh right, the alarms in my head.

Forty-five minutes later, the lady that had been sitting across from me in the lobby, who presumably was schedule for the 15 minute block before me went up to the window to see what was going on. This poor lady had been jumpy from the moment that I walked in and it was revealed at this time that she had to pee. I fully understood her urgency after hearing that. She nicely asked the receptionist if the nurse could come out and take her sample as she only needed a pregnancy test. This is where the story gets good. The receptionist replied, ” We don’t have a nurse. We just have a doctor.” Say what??

Now, I’ve worked in a doctor’s office and I served for all intents and purposes as the doctor’s nurse for a few years. I’m not sure how a practice might run without a nurse or doctor’s assistant or sorts. I’ve assisted with many PAP tests and I’m just not sure how that might go without a nurse. I have a gynecologist of my own and I have always had a nurse in the room when the doctor does the exam. Anyway. When the big dull dud of a receptionist said that, the alarms in my head began to go off (even louder than they were already). I promptly walked outside where Ashley and I discussed how I was going to get out of seeing the doctor. We made a plan of escape and I went in and politely bailed.

We learned from this experience that we should trust our gut and to discuss the situation if we are not comfortable. We are formulating a new plan to get the form signed which involves some time, a PCP (Primary Care Physician), and a friendly gay man. More on that later.

In other news, Ashley and I have decided something. When we begin ‘trying’ we are not going to make it publicly known. We don’t want to deal with all of the questions about being pregnant. “Are you pregnant yet?” “Did you get your period?” T-M-I. We are most likely not going to refer to trying until we are confirmed pregnant or have a new plan. Don’t take this warning to mean that we are starting now, however, because that is just not true. There are a few things that need to be ironed out (or sold rather) prior to the ‘trying’ business. This is just a warning that when we do start, we are going to be keeping it quite for a while.

We received this in the mail a couple of days ago and discovered that all baby magazines are big fat major adds for cutesy products. Is this really necessary?

Too bad we still like looking at them.

Leave a Reply

