A Trip North, into the South…

So, we have been home for a few days and I am finally getting around to posting about our trip. There will of course be several restaurant reviews on Mandi Munches regarding the places that we ate, but here is a little bit about what else we did (though eating being force fed by Granny is a large part of any trip to Georgia).

We left after work on Friday and arrived in Georgia a little after dinner time.  Saturday morning we got up and headed to the Georgia Special Olympics horse show at the Perry Fairgrounds. There also happened to be a beef cattle show in the arena next to the horses.  The horse show was very interesting. One of the most interesting parts was the unified drill teams. If you are not familiar, the team rides to music on a certain pattern and the idea is to match or mirror the other team members.

This next photo is interesting because as I mentioned, the horse show was for children and people with some type of special needs. For this particular group the crowd was asked to substitute clapping for what I will call, “Jazz hands.” So, I snapped a picture.

For lunch we went to Yoder’s Deitsch Haus, a Mennonite restaurant. While waiting in line, a nice woman behind me was trying to read my shirt and referred to me as a “he.”  I was not offended but I also did not turn around and have that awkward moment where the person realizes that I am indeed a woman.

The next day we went to see my dad who lives in Juliette, Georgia. Juliette is the location where the movie “Fried Green Tomatoes” was filmed. It is complete with the Whistle Stop Cafe from the movie. Here is what it looks like now:

Me and my dad in front of the cafe. We didn’t actually eat here, we just went to say we went. We actually ended up eating at Chedder’s, one of our favorite places to go when we are in Macon.

No trip to Georgia is ever really complete without a crossbow pointed inside a house. Here is a great shot of me. Now, if that TV was actually a deer I’d fit right in.

Couldn’t pass this sign without a photo op. This was Monday on the way to the antique mall and lunch at another small home-cookin’ kind of place.

I have a great family. Upon each visit we always set aside time to play a friendly card or board game. It usually ends up with my Granny cursing or gloating and everyone else laughing hysterically at her. Here is my game face. I did not win any of the rounds.By the way, never play games with Ashley.

All in all we had a great time. Here are some things worth noting:

In Valdosta, just as you come off the exit there is a great sign that says, “Don’t litter, make Valdosta glitter.” It is complete with shiny sparkle words.

We may have picked up the pamphlet for Augusta instead of Valdosta and gotten really excited, and then really disappointed, upon reading about the organic restaurant, “Bee’s Knee’s.”

Kroger (the major supermarket chain) has a better selection of organic products than Publix does, to the extent that we went shopping for dry goods up there before we came home. WTF?

On the way out of Kroger we passed a nice lady in a fancy car that gave us a thumbs up followed by frantic waving. Maybe she doesn’t see many lesbians in those parts?lol

Excessive salty food caused us to have some bodily issues. I won’t elaborate.

BTW, why is every other billboard along I-75 an add for a strip club, a sex store, or an Asia massage place?

Leave a Reply

