Family Friday IV: The One with the Organic Cotton

A few days ago we were walking around Walmart to kill time and decided to look at the baby stuff.  I know this is a major no-no but every time we are in a store and see a baby section we have to walk through now and just chat about what we like and what we don’t like.  We know that we like gender neutral clothes.  It must be all the feminist philosophy classes that I took in college.  Anyway, as we discovered when we were shopping for a friend that had a baby a couple of months back, truly gender neutral items are hard to find.  Sure they may be yellow or green, but ruffles and lace seem to imply it was made for a girl. So, we were looking at the sale rack and found these adorable three-piece sets that were legitimately gender neutral and made from organic cotton!  OMG we have to buy these… Wait. We don’t have a baby yet.  Yes, but we could save them.  Bad idea.  We did finally manage to talk ourselves out of the gender neutral, adorable, organic cotton, cheap baby clothes, though I’m not sure how.

Seeing those organic cotton outfits got me thinking about the type of clothes that our kid might wear so I (Mandi) did what had to be done, a Google search.  I found a website that had several different collections or organic baby clothes.  Here are some of the favorites:

This is cute, of course, and I love red. The red butt is a nice touch. I think the website called them monkey pants because of the red butt.

I love this random pear design outfit. Not so sure about the hat but it made a good photo.

I’m not sure if it’s the clothes or the future fashion model in this photo that I am in love with.

What do you guys think?

Wordless Wednesday X got us thinking about genetics because the Titus gene is so strong.  Interestingly, our future baby will be a Titus by name, as that is the surname that I took and Ashley kept, but not by genetics.  There are all sorts of choices you can make when selecting a donor.  You can submit a photo and have the agency match a donor to your features, you can select by physical features, you can view photos of the person as a child, and so on. We are thinking of selecting a donor with matching traits or one that has similar physical traits as “the other mother” so that the baby would look like a combination of the two of us. If we are in public, we would like someone to see us with the baby and be unsure who was the “real” or “birth” mother.   Anyone out there have experience or opinions about this?  We’d like to hear them…

Otherwise, not much has happened in the baby realm.  I am still waking up at 4am to take my temp every morning.  The chart may be looking better but I can’t tell for sure yet.  When I get a chart that looks like something I will post it in a Family Friday.  Our other cervical monitoring purchase (see Family Friday II: The One with the “Adult” Store)  is becoming useful.  I won’t go into the details but if you really want to know, email and I’d be glad to share!  I will say, however, that it is both hilarious and ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

