An Annoying Association

I would just like to take a moment to express another reason that we are ready to get the hell out of here…

I despise Home Owner’s Associations!  Today, I received the second complaint letter from our Association.  I’m not sure that I mentioned the first letter but some time ago I got a letter stating that my yard had not been kept up properly.  What? I’m out sweating my everything off mowing and edging and trimming and someone is complaining about my yard?  As it turns out, I called them to find out what the deal was and the complaint was referring to the side and ditch area next to our property.  What the heck?  They sent me a letter of complaint about the weeds that had grown up in a common area, an area that I pay them hundreds of dollars a year to take care of.  The company that they hired to take care of the common areas wasn’t weed-whacking the ditch and it’s my fault?  WTF?  So, I was pissed then but I let it go at the time.  The lady on the phone made a note that the ditch was not my property and the complaint was erased.

Today, I get home and Ashley tells me that we got another letter.  This time they are stating that my pets are not being picked up after or are not being walked in the proper pet-walking areas.  Say what?  They included a little excerpt from the association agreement that states:

“All animals shall be kept under control by each Owner at all  times and leashed when outside the boundaries of the Owner’s lot.  All pets shall be walked only in the part of the Common Area designated by the Association for that purpose.  Any Owner maintaining a pet shall be fully responsible for, and shall bear the expense of, any damage to persons or property resulting there from… If, in the discretion of the Board, any animal shall become dangerous or an annoyance or nuisance to other owners, or destructive to wildlife or property, such animal may not thereafter be kept on a Lot.”

First of all, if I didn’t walk my dog on a leash she would run away because she is ADD and dumb like that.  She has no concept of the road and getting hit by a car.  I have never walked her without the leash and I take special care not to walk her near anyone’s yard because I don’t want her to poop there.  Our property borders the Common Area and so this is not an issue.  After the initial annoyance I called the company to straighten out this claim.  It took about five calls to get an actual person on the phone.  After beginning my story about getting the letter she stated that she was not the correct person to talk to and put me back on hold.  I finally got Christina, who was very kind of understanding.  (No, I’m not being sarcastic).  I explained the situation to her and she advised me how to handle this.  I followed up the issue with an email that should take care of the problem.

Since I had Christina on the phone, I addressed a few other issues that I had:

One, there are at least three homeowners in close proximity to our house that allow their dogs to wander about, which means random pooping.  I have never seen any of those people scouring the ground in order to find and pick up their dogs crap-turds.   She asked me to mention this in my follow-up email and they could take care of it.  I did mention it but did not name any names because I don’t care that much and don’t want to be a tool that tattles on people (like apparently my neighbors are).

Two, we are only allowed to pay our dues with a check which is just not going to work for me.  She told me that we actually can pay online but they don’t advertise this to people.

Three, as you may have noticed, we have had a slight issue with various snake varieties living in the canal next to our house.  I called animal control who will not take care of the issue because the snakes are a venomous type.  I called the Fish and Game Commission (I think that is what it is called?) and they cannot take care of it because it is not my property.  So, since it is the Common Area I asked Christina to take care of it.  Who knows if they will. (BTW, various snake varieties living in and around our property can be reason #345 that we are moving.lol)

So, now I will get off my soapbox and just say that Home Owner’s Associations are full of bullshit and in this case dog shit, too.

3 thoughts on “An Annoying Association

  1. So this is just another reason why I don’t live in an area where I have to pay home owners dues, just taxes, LOL! I still can’t believe no one would come and take care of the snake problem. I would find out who in the world complained to the association about your yard. Then accidentally have you dog poop a few times on theirs, haha Have fun this week, Looking forward to munchi posts!!!!

Leave a Reply

